PDP loses 6 members to APC, now minority at Kogi Assembly

Six members of Kogi State House of Assembly, elected under the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) have officially defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Announcing their defection on the floor of the House on Thursday, the members cited the leadership crisis bedeviling the PDP at the national level, as reason for their action.


Those who crossed to the ruling party include, Hon. John Abah of Ibaji state constituency; Hon. Mukhtar Adoke of Adavi state constituency and Hon. Mathew Kolawole of Kabba Bunu state constituency.

Others are, Hon. Ahmed Muhammad of Ankpa 1 constituency; Hon. Victor Adewale Omofaiye representing Ijumu state constituency and Hon. Abdulkarim Kekere Sani representing Okehi state constituency.

With the defection, the Kogi Assembly now has 16 members from the APC, while the PDP automatically becomes the minority, with only 9 members.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s